Volvo Ocean Race

The Volvo Ocean Race is an eight month around-the-world sailing race that is considered one of the toughest sport competitions in the world.

For weeks at a time, the sailors endure conditions ranging from freezing cold to searing heat, while waves constantly slam the boat.

The race is divided into sections or ‘legs’, stopping at twelve cities during the course of the race and for the first time in the event’s history the boats will visit Hong Kong with the boats expected to arrive on 20 January 2018.

Route Map

There are up to seven boats in the race and each team can have between seven and eleven sailors on board depending on the gender ratios of the team. In addition to the sailors a reporter travels on board capturing content around-the-clock.

Crew Rules

The winner of the race is the team that is awarded the most points by the end of the race. The first boat to arrive in each city is awarded nine points plus one bonus point, with the next team earning seven points and so on. Bonus points can also be earned for achievements like being the first boat around the treacherous Cape Horn or for having the quickest overall sailing time. No points are awarded during a series of city races known as the In-port races, but the results will be recorded as the tiebreaker on points at the Finish.

Leg / Race Events Points
Leg Winner (Total of 11 Legs) 7 points +  bonus point
Second 6 points
Third 5 points
Fourth 4 points
Fifth 3 points
Sixth 2 points
Seventh 1 points
Southern Ocean Legs

  • Cape Town to Hong Kong
  • Auckland to Itajaí
Double Points
North Atlantic Leg – Newport to Cardiff Double Points
First team to round Cape Horn 1 point
Best total elapsed time overall in the race 1 point
In-Port Series No points
*Remains the tiebreaker on points at the Finish